Hiking and Mushrooms

While we have been hiking on most of these cool fall days, I’ve had the pleasure of taking  many fungus pictures.  I’ve been amazed at the many varieties that grow up here.  They seem to come in every color and shape conceivable to man.

IMG_5956

Searching for them while walking through the woods gives the kids a goal.  When they find one I come running (or sometimes trudging up hill and puffing for air as the inclines around here can be steep) to examine it and, of course, take a picutre.

IMG_5957

These were all captured on a two mile hike.

IMG_5958

And my favorite…

photo-2

All I can think of when I look at this little fungus jewel is Strawberry Shortcake.  I think artist designed mushroom when I view this tiny one.  It was no taller than a large paperclip.

Leave a Reply

