Horse Unit Study

sterling

Since getting her pony and attending the rodeo, my youngest girl has become more and more interested in horses.  In a few weeks she will celebrate her last single digit birthday, as she turns 9 years old.

One thing I’ve learned over the years is that teaching when a child is interested, no matter whether it is math or potty training, is always much easier than trying to do it when they aren’t so fascinated in a topic.  So I went in search of learning materials that were horse centered.  Here are a few that are free and then those which vary in price from reasonable to the more costly.  As we use them I will return to give each a proper review, but if you have a wee child that is horse crazy you’ll want to check these resources, out.

1.  Horse Lover’s Math has a tag line that sums up the goal for the site – Understanding Math Through Horses.  It is amazing how much math surrounds us in our every day world, and the equine world is no different.  To use the site it is quite simple.  The student only needs a piece of paper and pencil and then they can choose any problem that is posted.  As they work the problem they can choose to use the links, videos and photos that assist with the problem.

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 5.13.46 PM

2.  The Horse Course – Introduction to Basic Care and Management – While my 13 year old has completed three Coursera courses I am not familiar with this one.  It is offered through the University of Florida and if you sign up you will be notified by email when this course becomes available again.  I know I am looking forward to that notification.

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 5.26.25 PM

3.  Winter Promise offers an Equine Science course that is geared for children in grades 3-7.  While it seems very comprehensive the cost is a bit high and I will probably hold off on this one until my girl is a bit older.  If she is still crazy about horses I’ll return to invest the money in this program.

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 5.48.27 PM

4.  Horse Painting – This whimsical horse painting project is something that I am sure most children would enjoy.  If you have a horse who will tolerate it, you will be all set.  I am fairly certain that Gracie the Pony will cooperate so I am now looking for paints.

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 5.52.00 PM

5.  4H Horse Curriculum – This program is broken into five grade levels that range from 3rd through 12th grade.  Each level costs a little less than $30.  I think this is where we will start our learning as these are in my price range, and they cover everything from grooming and anatomy to basic riding instruction.

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 5.57.11 PM

6.  Recommended Horse Literature – Nothing is better than being in love with a topic and then enjoying fiction on that subject.  At least that is my opinion, and the one I hope to cultivate in my children.

Visit The Children’s Literature Network  for a thorough list of horse themed children’s books.

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 6.03.57 PM

Leave a Reply

